Rep. Katko: Farm Bill Provides Economic Development, Infrastructure Investment Opportunities for Wayne County

December 11, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Rep. John Katko (NY-24) today announced that, following his advocacy, Wayne County has been added to a list of counties in New York State eligible for Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC) funding opportunities. The designation was included in the text of the bicameral Farm Bill released today.

Rep. Katko has consistently advocated for Wayne County’s inclusion in the NBRC, an economic development partnership between the federal government and regional state and local governments designed to help reduce economic distress and encourage private-sector job creation throughout designated northern counties of New York, Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont.  In NY-24, Cayuga and Oswego Counties are also eligible to receive NBRC funding.

“I was proud to advocate to ensure Wayne County received this designation.  It is critical that we invest in and strengthen our rural communities in New York, and this designation will ensure that Wayne County is considered for critical infrastructure and economic development funding projects to make our region stronger,” said Rep. John Katko.

The House is expected to vote on the Farm Bill this week.