June 26, 2015
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Rep. John Katko (NY-24), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Transportation Security, today announced that three bipartisan bills he introduced – one focused on border security, and two on improving transportation security – have passed the House Committee on Homeland Security.

“Since the start of this Congress, I have worked diligently to assess the effectiveness of transportation security in our country and to prevent threats at our borders,” said Rep. John Katko.  “The measures that passed through the Committee on Homeland Security this week improve our national security by ensuring the safety of our vast northern border and addressing transportation security risks to make travel safer for Americans.”

Details on the legislation can be found below:

  • H.R. 455, the Northern Border Security Review Act, requiring the Department of Homeland Security to conduct a northern border threat analysis to ensure that adequate safeguards are put in place to secure the northern border.
  • H.R. 2750, the Improved Security Vetting for Aviation Workers Act, legislation to reform Transportation Security Administration (TSA) programs by requiring TSA to collect adequate data on aviation workers in order to close gaps in the vetting process.
  • H.R. 2843, the TSA PreCheck Expansion Act, directs the TSA to expand and promote enrollment in its PreCheck program by partnering with the private sector.

Rep. Katko chairs the Homeland Security Committee on Transportation Security, which has jurisdiction over the TSA. This Congress, Rep. Katko has held three subcommittee hearings focused on airline employee screening and ‘risk-based security’ as it related to passenger screening.   Each hearing revealed that severe security lapses existed.  Additionally, he has sponsored legislation to ensure TSA operates in the most effective and efficient manner possible.  Both the TSA Office of Inspection Accountability Act (H.R. 719) and the Airport Security Enhancement Act (H.R. 720) have passed the House and the Senate committee of jurisdiction. 

Congressman John Katko represents the 24th Congressional District, which includes all of Onondaga, Cayuga, and Wayne Counties and a portion of Oswego County.  For more information, please visit or visit