November 7, 2017
Press Release

(WASHINGTON, D.C.)  Today, members of the Tuesday Group Caucus elected Rep. John Katko (NY-24) to serve as a Co-Chair of the caucus. He joins Co-Chairs Charlie Dent (PA-15) and Elise Stefanik (NY-21) for the remainder of the 115th Congress.

“Tuesday Group is a constructive group of dedicated Members of Congress committed to advancing real solutions, and I’m honored to be selected to serve as co-chair alongside Reps. Dent and Stefanik,” said Rep. Katko. “Despite the gridlock in Washington, I have always worked across the aisle to produce results.  Serving in this capacity will strengthen my ability to continue this work as an independent voice for Central New York.”

“I am excited to have John serving as a co-chair of the Tuesday Group,” said Congresswoman Stefanik. “I’ve been pleased to work with John on issues facing our region and facing our nation since we arrived in Congress together, and there is no one more committed to achieving results for the people he represents. The Tuesday Group is a strong force in our conference for effective governance and we are fortunate to have John as Co-Chair as we seek solutions to many important issues facing our nation.”

"John is a strong, principled and pragmatic voice in Congress and I look forward to serving with him as Tuesday Group co-chairs," said Congressman Dent. "Congress faces numerous governing challenges on issues ranging from funding the government and ensuring that we do not default on our nation’s obligations to reforming the tax code and growing the economy to benefit workers and families. I look forward to working with John to advocate for responsible, commonsense solutions to these problems and making Tuesday Group an even stronger force within the Republican Conference."

The Tuesday Group is a coalition of more than 50 center-right House Republicans. The members focus on the need to govern – specifically to perform the basic duties of government such as responsible budgeting and an efficient appropriations process.